Buying Decks for Resale

Anything and everything playing cards!
MeriK

Buying Decks for Resale

Unread post by MeriK »

Hey guys, I'm new to the custom playing cards scene and I was wondering how much someone can expect to make off of buying and reselling KS custom cards (1-time print and Limkted Edition decks). Obviously, I would only start off with the decks that reach their pledge in about a day or so, but I think it would be a good way to help pay for my living expenses in college, or even just feed my new playing card addiction.

How much can one expect to make off of one deck? I know it depends on the demand for the deck and how long after they stopped being sold, but are there any general rules of thumb to follow? I'm just trying to gauge the feasibility and risk of buying bulk and reselling popular KS decks with limited supply.
RECENT OCTODON SIGHTING: viewtopic.php?f=18&t=8000" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
Eoghann
Collector: Yes
Player: Yes

Re: Buying Decks for Resale

Unread post by Eoghann »

That's a terrible idea I'm afraid.

Don't be fooled. Many of us have said it time and time again: playing cards should never be considered an investment. You can never know with certainty what will turn a profit. So buying decks in bulk in hopes to make lots of money is nothing but a pipe dream.

You're new to this so you're still a little starry eyed when you see Jackson, Blaine decks going for hundreds of dollars on eBay. And that's understandable. We've all been there I can assure you. But those are simply happy coincidences. If you pay attention to current Kickstarter projects, 100% of them have the common buzzwords:" limited edition, won't be reprinted, only XXXX printed!, etc".

Fact of the matter is, even if you take heavy hitters you can see that not all of their decks are turning ridiculous profits nowadays.