What's the Deal with Tuck Boxes?

Off-topic randomness, anything goes. Keep it PG-13.
flashcards
Cardist: Yes
Collector: Yes
Decks Owned: 600

What's the Deal with Tuck Boxes?

Unread post by flashcards »

Dear friends, I am very new to collecting cards. I've noticed here on UC that there is a lot of discussion about tuck boxes. For me, in my current ignorant state, a tuck box is just container to keep the cards from being lost. While some are nice looking, I'm more interested in the cards themselves. What am I missing here? How does a tuck box add to the aesthetic "value" of a deck? What should one look for in a tuck box? What's the deal with foil? Why is that desirable? Please explain to a newbie everything he needs to know about tucks.

Thank you for your time. I look forward to your responses. Let the education begin!
MagikFingerz
Site Admin
Site Admin
Cardist: Yes
Player: Yes
Magician: Yes
White Whale: Sawdust and Delicious + uncuts

Re: What's the Deal with Tuck Boxes?

Unread post by MagikFingerz »

There are those who does not open most of their deck, which means that the tuck box is all they see. Those types of collectors tend to be quite invested in the appearance of the tuck.

While I think the tuck box is "part" of the deck and should present it and compliment it, I also think it shouldn't be the main focus. I dislike seeing a tuck that's blinged out more than the cards, which leads to a feeling of disappointment when taking the cards out. But that might just be me, Theory11 cards seem to be selling well still.
- Tom

Check out my collection

My (abandoned and now severely outdated) Playing Card Wiki
Eoghann

Unread post by Eoghann »

Ok, let me put it like this:

Now let me elaborate:

- great card design
- metallic inks
- foil on backs
- great tuck design
- innovative tuck stock
- metallic inks on tuck
- foil on tuck
- printed tuck interior