Flower themed playing cards

Designing a deck? Need input? Show us here!
pushkar000

Flower themed playing cards

Unread post by pushkar000 »

Hi guys, I have a concept for a custom deck. The quality is low - I am not a designer and these are concepts, not final art. But I am quite satisfied with them. I would appreciate it if you guys could give the cards a quick look. I would like to collect feedback, make appropriate changes and then send these to a graphic artist within 2-3 days.

I've only uploaded QS, AS, back and joker. That's pretty much the whole deck. All the courts follow the same color scheme and style. The faces and hairstyles have been slightly changed. Numbered cards are standard pips, layouts and fonts.

This deck is intended to be a magicians/cardists deck, hence the standard faces. The petals crossing the border are for fans. It should look like a trail of petals.

I will be requesting both bordered and borderless backs form the designer.

Even though this is basically a hack job(albeit after my best efforts), I hope it is enough to make out the general idea. I would like to kickstart this in the coming months. Any advice, opinions etc are greatly appreciated.

Separately, I am working on a more art-heavy design, leaning a bit more heavily towards a traditional japanese aesthetic, with custom pips and courts. Foil and all that good stuff. Thats the edition that I hope to put out for collectors. I hope to have that ready soon as well.

Thanks!

Pushkar
Attachments
Deck.jpg
shaitani
Cardist: Yes
Collector: Yes
White Whale: Artistic Spring

Re: Flower themed playing cards

Unread post by shaitani »

I have so many things to say that I can't possibly say it all in a coherent manner. So I won't say it all, and it won't be coherent.

I feel like the entirety of your idea and whether it succeeds is dependent on the artist's work.